both hands
because it takes both hands to do it right, baby

Awkward

April 13, 2004
Don�t you hate when things get�awkward? I�m not great in social situations as it is, let alone when I�m being inappropriately hit upon. Or not. Please read the below story and let me know if �Shirley� is, in fact, hitting on me.

I had a business meeting today that I completely forgot about while getting dressed for work this morning. Since I was planning on spending my day among various boxes and paperwork I was wearing the usual uniform--jeans and T-shirt. I was not prepared when Shirley called to remind me of the meeting, and asked if I was OK with taking some photographs as well? I think I managed to keep the panic from my voice as I assessed my old jeans and dust covered shirt.

I was smooth in my reply, �Oh, yeeeaaah, I completely forgot about the meeting and am rather dressed down today.� Shirley responded by explaining that she was wearing a black suit and would I like her to bring something for me to wear? Weird moment number one. (A little background info here: I�ve known Shirley for about a month. We�ve met twice in various meetings and I�ve had one (weird) phone call with her. She�s at least 15 - 20 years older than I, and I have not initiated any contact with her outside of structured business meetings)

I responded by telling her I would be able to find clothes on my own, ��but, uh, thanks for the offer��

Since I live at least an hour drive from my workplace, I decided a quick trip to the mall was in order. Sales associates avoided me as I manically searched through racks of professional-looking clothes. Once I decided on my new outfit, I paid and asked if I could change in the dressing room. Bless the folks at Lane Bryant, they didn�t even look at me funny as I gnawed the tags off my new blouse and slacks.

Professional clothing never being as comfortable as jeans and a T-shirt, I arrived at my meeting on time, but sweating from the phone booth style change. I certainly didn�t feel very attractive, but at least I was presentable. Now comes the weird part; I entered the meeting location and spotted Shirley carrying flowers. Hello? I approached her and held out my hand for her to shake. She grasped my hand and pulled me in for a hug/kiss on the cheek. Weird moment number two. It didn�t help that I wasn�t prepared for this, so it didn�t come off very smoothly.

Then she gave me the flowers. Weird moment number three. I thanked her and was at a complete loss as to what else I should say at that moment. I suggested we get our photo shoot over with. She responded with, �You look really beautiful. Really nice.� I tried to play it off by explaining my panicked shopping trip, but she kept repeating, ��really pretty�� My weird-o-meter was pretty much shooting off the scale.

We finally got our pictures taken (�can you two get a little closer? Great��) and finished the rest of the business deal without incident.

I fled the moment it was clear. �Niceseeingyouagainhopetoseeyouagainsoonbye�

The best part is that she left me a voice mail shortly thereafter letting me know she would stop by next week to say hi and �touch base.�

I can�t wait.

6:41 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next