both hands
because it takes both hands to do it right, baby

Week One Is Currently Sucking

June 01, 2004
I took the weekend off�caught up on all the things I�ve been needing to do at home that were ignored while I was working so much overtime. At least, that�s what I�d like to tell myself. I really didn�t get much of anything done, other than going to my first Weight Watchers meeting.

Yup. That�s right�Weight Watchers. I�ve been meaning to lose the extra hundred or so pounds that have been following me around the last several years, and I finally decided it�s time. Not that I�m happy about it. Nope, you won�t find me jumping up and down at Weight Watcher�s meetings with pom-poms. I�m a Weight Watchers member, and I�m pissed about it.

I�ve known for a while that I needed to lose some weight. It�s not like it�s a surprise to me. I was just hoping that I would magically do so, all while continuing to eat exactly what I want to eat, whenever I wanted. Unfortunately, the 27-year-old body I currently inhabit doesn�t allow for such things. And besides, I managed to find a husband�what good will it be if we both keel over from hear-attacks in 10 or 15 years.

My family history doesn�t bode well for me, either. You name it�we�ve got it�everything from high blood pressure and high cholesterol to heart attacks, diabetes, cancer, and strokes. Might as well get on top of this thing while I�m only 27. I did pretty much get to eat exactly as I chose for my entire life so far, so it�s essentially a fair trade.

Now, I promise not to turn this into some sort of weight-loss journal (as soooo many blogs are, I�ve noticed), but I may write about it from time to time. It is a major life change. And maybe writing about it will help keep me honest.

Doesn�t mean it still doesn�t suck.

6:34 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next