both hands
because it takes both hands to do it right, baby

I broke my...chest?

July 01, 2004
Keeping with my promise to blog each day this week, I will continue to type�through the pain. The horrible chest pain!

OK�maybe that�s a bit of an exaggeration. Just a bit.

I stayed late today to try and get some boxes packed up, and while lifting a particularly heavy box, I strained some muscles. In my chest. I had a moment of fear, thinking, �This is a new chest pain I�ve never had before�I hope it�s not serious,� before realizing that my heart was beating just fine and I could also breathe. I�ve heard that having a heart-attack makes you feel as though an elephant is sitting on your chest, and this didn�t feel like an elephant. More like a large dog. Or maybe a goat. Possibly something as large as a pygmy hippopotamus (interesting fact on that website under the subtitle �Special Adaptations; Skin Secretions: The pygmy hippo does not swear [sic].�).

The point is�it hurt. I went to the closest urgent care to make absolutely sure I hadn�t seriously injured myself. They were really excited to see me, as they had closed just 5 minutes before I arrived. And I got to fill out some really fun patient information forms, as it was my first time there. I got all of 1 minute with the actual doctor, who diagnosed me with �chest muscle strain� from five feet away, never touching any part of me. He said the first couple of days will be painful, but I �should expect about an 80% reduction in pain after that time.� If I�m not feeling better after this weekend, I have to go in for X-rays. Whoopie.

What really sucks�my job lately can be broken down into two important areas: paperwork and moving heavy boxes. I have a lot of heavy boxes to move, and no chest muscles to do it with. I wish I had an assistant. Then I could delegate my responsibility to him/her. Maybe they can just appoint me a valet, or something. I�m not very good at delegating, but I�m sure with practice I could get much better.

I also saw a new homeless man today on that same corner. Nothing really remarkable about him, but his sign�

�WAS LIVING THE GOOD LIFE UNTIL A DRUNK DRIVER HIT ME. NOW, BACK AND LEGS ARE FUCKED UP. ANYTHING WILL HELP. GOD BLESS.�

God bless you sir. And your fucked up back and legs.

9:29 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next