both hands
because it takes both hands to do it right, baby

A most random post

April 09, 2004
First�another thank you, this time to eva-lon for listing me as a favorite.

Secondly, thanks to BUST magazine for putting me into their girl-wide-web. I'm a big BUST fan and am proud to be listed.

It�s been a rough week in Ensie-land. I�ve been working late all week and the Daylight Saving time change is messing with my circadian rhythm. I feel like I lost more than an hour this week. I don�t fall asleep or stay asleep easily most of the time, is there really a reason for screwing with my body like this? Apparently there are several reasons.

Some strange facts about Daylight Saving Time from the WebExhibits Daylight Saving Time page:

� Daylight Saving Time saves energy

� Daylight Saving Time saves lives and prevents traffic injuries

� Daylight Saving Time prevents crime

� Indiana, Hawaii, and Arizona do not switch to Daylight Savings Time

How incredibly random. But don�t you feel better now that you know? I certainly do.

Now for something completely different--In honor of Easter, check out this bunny cartoon. It�s highly worth it.

And in the spirit of including random links, check this out.

In other news, I picked up my brand-spankin� new marriage license today. Then I thought I�d try my luck at the DMV and get my last name officially changed. As soon as I walked into the DMV office, I knew I had made a mistake. The �no appointment� line was at least 25 people long. While I won�t go into some sort of rehashed comedy routine about the DMV and their idiotically slow line system, I feel like I have to say something. So, I�ll just say, �pygmies�. See the movie Matchstick Men and you�ll understand. My last name is still in its maiden form, and will remain so until I am proactive enough to make an actual appointment to get it changed.

Speaking of movies, I saw The Girl Next Door today. It was surprisingly good. A bit choppy, not something I�d recommend spending full price on, but good for a matinee. It made me think of 80s teen movies a la Sixteen Candles and Risky Business. Please note that when I say that it made me think of 80s teen movies, I don�t mean to imply that it is anywhere near as good as Sixteen Candles and/or Risky Business.

Closing out tonight's blogging�send kind thoughts out to my mom. She inherited my late grandmother�s dog a few years ago and had to put her to sleep yesterday. Suzie, aka Adventure Dog, had chased a rattlesnake out of the backyard. While bravely defending her house, this 8 lb. Miniature Doxie took a snakebite to the nose, and the vet recommended putting her to sleep as opposed to going through a grueling routine of anti-venom and blood transfusions. Hope Suzie is having a good time sitting in Nana�s lap again.

10:15 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next