both hands
because it takes both hands to do it right, baby

There's only so much crazy to go 'round

April 22, 2004
I spent some time at the registers today instead of staying at my desk, and boy, am I sorry.

Picture me, working approximately 10 feet from Bob*, a new cashier. Bob approaches me with a damaged item, inquiring as to a possible discount for the customer. I OK the discount, and then this happens:

Bob to Customer: OK, you can get the item with a discount.

Customer to Bob: Are you speaking to me?

Bob to Customer: Uh, yes.

Customer to Bob: Well, I couldn�t tell. You aren�t looking at me.

Suddenly, the customer snaps her hand into Bob�s face and points her index and middle fingers at Bob�s eyes. It is at this point that I began taking a real interest in what is going on.

Customer continues: You see, this is how we speak to eachother!

As she delivers this line, she whips her hand back and forth from Bob�s eyes to her own, about 4 or 5 times. Bob takes a step away from her jabbing fingers.

Customer continues: If you don�t look me in the eye, how can I know you�re speaking to me? This is how we communicate! I work with Cancer patients, and you must know how to communicate.

Bob: Ensie, can you come down here please?

Sometimes I hate my job.

*Not his real name�he�s new, and I didn�t want to scare him away by asking if I could post about him on my blog.

9:03 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next