both hands
because it takes both hands to do it right, baby

Hey--Reality does bite

May 24, 2004
It really sucks to be poor. I mean, it really sucks. Now, I know I�m not living under a bridge strumming a 3-stringed guitar for pocket change. I�m speaking more about your run-of-the-mill poor�employed (often in retail), able to pay for life�s necessities, and usually able to pay all the bills (although some juggling may be required).

I hate that I can�t just go out and buy what I want. I�m not looking to purchase a yacht, I just want to be able to live without money-related panic attacks a few times each week. Currently we pay the following bills each month:

1. Cable Internet Access

2. Digital Cable

3. Phone

4. Electricity

5. Propane

6. Ensie�s student loan payment (good planning on my part�7 years of schoolin� and debt and no degree yet!)

7. Car payment (from Hell)

8. Chiropractor

9. Car Insurance

10. Rent

11. Frinklin�s Cell Phone

12. Credit Card 1

13. Credit Card 2

14. Credit Card 3

That�s a fuck of a lot of bills. That doesn�t even include things like (the ever-rising cost of Southern California) gas, car maintenance, pet food, groceries, etc, etc, etc�the list goes on and on.

I decided some time ago that I just need to win the lottery. That�s all there is to it. Just one time. I�m not greedy. I don�t even need to win PowerBall. Just the state lottery would do it for me.

I know the odds of winning aren�t good, especially since I have to weigh the two arguments constantly going on in my head as I fill out the QuickPik bubble on the CA Lottery form. One side of my brain truly believes that I will win the lottery. I begin to dream about the things I will purchase, about quitting my job to stay home with my future children all day, of the friends I will gift with financial security. Just as I�m getting comfortable living in my dreams, a loud voice interrupts, The Lottery is just a tax on the Stupid! Don�t you KNOW the ODDS of WINNING the lottery?! Why did you waste a dollar for something that will never happen?�

Damn reality.

7:08 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next