both hands
because it takes both hands to do it right, baby

Voodoo

July 02, 2004
Today I was standing at the registers ringing up orders. I put a sign at my register that read, �SORRY-THIS REGISTER IS CLOSED, PLEASE PROCEED TO NEXT REGISTER� (or something along those lines). A woman in a red shirt wearing sunglasses (inside! A pet peeve of mine) approached me. Being the customer-service oriented person that I am, I asked if she needed assistance. Our conversation progressed as follows:

Customer: �Yeah, do you have voodoo dolls here?�

Me: �Ah, actually, I don�t know. I know we have carried them in the past, you�ll need to go to the help desk located in the center of the store and they can take you to it if we have any voodoo dolls.� (I point to the help desk)

C: (giving the �are you retarded?� head tilt and facial expression) �Don�t you work here?�

Me: (giving the �my, you are quite a bitch!� smile) �Yes. For seven years. In fact, that�s what I�m doing right now. However, since we are such a large store, I don�t have a running inventory in my head of what we currently carry. As I said, the help desk can assist you further.�

Hm. I can�t imagine why this woman might need a voodoo doll. I kinda thought about looking for one shortly after our conversation ended.

9:48 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next